The Mater Misericordiae University Hospital is a level 4 teaching hospital based in Dublin's north inner city. The hospital was opened in 1861 by the Sisters of Mercy. In addition to the local services for our catchment area, the Mater Hospital provides a range of frontline and specialist services on a regional and national level.

Our vision

Our vision is to build on excellence and enhance our role as an international leader in the provision of complex care and specialist services with a strong academic and translational research agenda, empowering our people to deliver excellence in care to our patients while shaping the medicine of tomorrow.

National centres for specialties and super specialties

We are the national centre for

  • Heart surgery
  • Heart and lung transplant
  • Adult congenital heart disease (ACHD) service
  • Pulmonary hypertension
  • Adult Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation (ECMO)
  • Hyperthermic intraperitoneal chemotherapy (HIPEC)
  • Spinal injuries
  • Adult scoliosis
  • Isolation unit
  • Inherited metabolic disorders
  • Rare diseases
  • Forensic and postmortem imaging
  • Bone anchored hearing aid
  • Deep Brain Stimulation
  • Ventricular Assist Device (VAD)
  • Brachial Plexus Service

Other specialties include but are not limited to cardiology, ophthalmology, haematology / oncology, nephrology, urology, infectious diseases, psychiatry, ear nose and throat, rheumatology, diabetes and endocrinology, neurology and stroke care, a multidisciplinary breast care centre, respiratory medicine, vascular surgery, interventional radiology, emergency and intensive care medicine, plastic surgery, general and colo-rectal surgery, orthopaedics, national rare disease, adult metabolic service, medicine for the elderly, pain and palliative care medicine, sole site for SIRTEX therapy in ROI, Sole site for MMMDT in ROI, Vestibular Rehab, EVLP (Ex Vivo Lung Perfusion), Emphysema Lung Volume Reduction, Thoracoscopic clip.

Last year at a glance:

In the last year we provided treatment to:

  • 24,437 inpatients
  • 68,347 day patients
  • 239,815 outpatients
  • 87,410 emergency department visits

Our hospital offers:



A university teaching hospital - what does this mean?

Education, training and research have always been at the core of the Mater Hospital. We are committed to providing excellence in healthcare for all of our patients and in order to achieve this we recognise that we must support our current and future staff to learn, grow and innovate.

Our strong academic partnerships allow us to deliver undergraduate and postgraduate education to hundreds of healthcare professionals including nurses, doctors, clinical therapists, radiographers and many more. We also work closely with academic institutions to deliver cutting edge research that has a direct impact on patient care.

Read more about our education and training and research and innovation.

The Ireland East Hospital Group

The Ireland East Hospital Group (IEHG) and their academic partner, University College Dublin (UCD) is the largest and most diverse of the seven hospital groups.  IEHG consists of 11 hospitals, including the Mater Misericordiae University Hospital, and serves over 1.1 million people. 

The development of the IEHG presents a unique opportunity within the Irish healthcare system to build on the excellence of our hospital, combined with the innovation, research and educational excellence provided by UCD to deliver consistent high quality safe healthcare outcomes and the world class healthcare our patients deserve.

The mission of the Ireland East Hospital Group is to deliver improved evidence base excellence in care delivery, education, training, research and innovation healthcare outcomes for the 1.1 million people we serve.

The hospitals within the Ireland East Hospital Group are: 

  • The Mater Hospital
  • St Vincent’s University Hospital
  • Midland Regional Hospital Mullingar
  • St Luke’s General Hospital, Kilkenny
  • Wexford General Hospital
  • National Maternity Hospital
  • Our Lady’s Hospital, Navan
  • St Columcille’s Hospital
  • St Michael’s Hospital, Dun Laoghaire
  • Cappagh National Orthopaedic Hospital
  • Royal Victoria Eye and Ear Hospital